• Richard Hay

    Managing Director and CEO

    Mr Hay is a highly experienced mining executive with close to 30 years of operational experience in gold. Mr Hay holds a Master of Science degree from Otago University, New Zealand (Geology). He joined Gascoyne in a newly created role of Executive General Manager in January 2019 with the remit to work on the turn-around the operations and profitability of Dalgaranga before assuming the role of CEO.

    Mr Hay has overseen the operational turnaround of the Dalgaranga mine.
    Prior to joining Gascoyne, Mr Hay was Mine General Manager of Evolution Mining Limited’s (ASX:EVN) Mt Carlton gold operation in North Queensland from 2015 to 2018.

    Mr Hay has previously held the role of Managing Director of gold developer Dampier Gold Limited. Prior to this Mr Hay has a successful 14 year career with Barrick Gold, which included 4 years as Mine General Manager at the Darlot Gold Mine in WA and 2 years as General Manager-Shared Services for 4 gold operations in WA.

  • George Bauk

    Independent Non-Executive Chairman

    Mr Bauk is an experienced company director with over 14 years’ experience as a listed company director in Australia with the resources industry in both production and exploration with assets in Western Australia, Australia and internationally.

    He is an experienced executive, with 30 years’ experience in the resources industry. Mr Bauk holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting and Finance) from Edith Cowan University, is a Fellow of the CPA and has an MBA from the University of New England. Mr Bauk has held global operational and corporate roles with WMC Resources and Western Metals. Mr Bauk has a strong background in strategic management, business planning, building teams, finance and capital/debt raising, and experience with a variety of commodities in particular rare earths, gold and industrial minerals.

    During his time as Managing Director of Northern Minerals, he led its rapid development from a Greenfields heavy rare earth explorer to one of a few global producers of high value dysprosium outside of China.

    Mr Bauk is a passionate member of the WA resources industry having previously held a number of senior governing positions with the Chamber of Minerals and Energy including Vice President.

  • Rowan Johnston

    Independent Non-Executive Director

    Mr Johnston is a mining engineer (graduating from the West Australian School of Mines) with significant experience as an Executive and Non-Executive Director. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Bardoc Gold Limited and has previously been the Managing Director of Excelsior Gold Limited. Mr Johnston was also the acting Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Operations for Mutiny Gold Limited prior to its takeover by Doray Minerals Limited and an Executive Director of Integra Mining Limited prior to its merger with Silver Lake Resources Limited.

    Mr Johnston has worked and studied in the mining (primarily gold) industry for 40 years throughout Australia and overseas and has experience working for owners, consultants and contractors. He has worked through several feasibility studies, start-ups, constructions, expansions and mergers.

  • David Coyne

    Chief Financial Officer and Joint Company Secretary

    Mr Coyne has over 25 years’ experience in the mining, and engineering and construction industries, both within Australia and internationally. Prior to joining Gascoyne, Mr Coyne held senior executive positions with Australia listed companies Macmahon Holdings Limited, VDM Group Limited, Peninsula Energy Limited and with unlisted global manganese miner Consolidated Minerals. Over the past 15 years, Mr Coyne has been directly involved in a number of equity and debt raising transactions and has been the project director on a company-wide systems implementation project. Mr Coyne remains as a Non-Executive Director of Peninsula Energy Limited and has previously served on the Board of listed iron ore miner, BC Iron Limited, where he also held the role of Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee.

  • David Baumgartel

    Executive General Manager

    Mr Baumgartel has over 15 years’ experience in the mining industry with 13 of those years being with Barrick Gold. He has worked as a General Manager internationally in mining for 9 years, running both open pit and underground mines in the Philippines (Runruno Gold Mine), Zambia (Lumwana Copper Mine), Saudi Arabia (Jabal Sayid Copper Mine) and Western Australia (Darlot Gold Mine). Mr Baumgartel was responsible for the start-up and commissioning of the underground and process plant at the Jabal Sayid Mine. Mr Baumgartel is a CPA with strong commercial acumen having also previously worked as a Commercial Manager, in Business Improvement and as the Vice President of Supply Chain for Barrick Gold.

  • Julian Goldsworthy

    B.App.Sc. MAusIMM, MAIG Chief Geologist

    Julian has over 26 years of mineral exploration experience primarily with Newcrest Mining (and its predecessor Newmont Australia) where he led and conducted successful exploration programs for gold in Australia and South America.

    Julian was Exploration Manager for Giralia Resources NL from 2007 until the takeover of Giralia by Atlas Iron Ltd in 2011.

    At Giralia, Julian was responsible for the discovery of over 400 million tonnes of direct shipping iron ore (DSO) in the Pilbara and Mid West regions of Western Australia.

  • Shane McBride

    FCPA, FGIA, FCG (CS ,CGP), MAICD Joint Company Secretary

    Shane has over thirty seven years of commercial management experience gained in listed Australian public companies incorporating the disciplines of corporate management, project development and mine site operations management, management and financial accounting, corporate finance, investor relations and company secretarial functions. Mr McBride has over thirty two years of this experience in the mining industry. Mr McBride is a Fellow of CPA Australia, Fellow of Governance Institute of Australia and the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators; and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Directors.